Regular School Board Meeting TMS/THS Media Center Tuesday, August 19, 2014 6:00p.m.

Board Members Present: Mr. Dennis Marler Mr. Jeff Kellar Mr. Bill Brubaker Mr. Scott Maple Mrs. Cathy Mathews

Administration and Central Office Staff Present: Christopher Smith, Ed. S, Superintendent Eric Hartman, THS Principal

Others Present: See attached list

On August 19, 2014 at 6:00 p.m., the Taylor Community School Corporation Board of Trustees met in the corporation board room for a special meeting for the purpose of approving an overnight, out of state field trip and for re-establishing the boundaries for the corporation's two election districts. The redistricting was made necessary by the realignment of the voting precincts by the Howard County Clerk, due to the annexation of parts of the district into the Kokomo city limits.

President Dennis Marler opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.

Scott Maple moved to approve the agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Bill Brubaker. The motion passed 5-0.

Scott Maple moved to approve the Taylor High School Show Choir field trip request to the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville for the purpose of performing and making a recording. Bill Brubaker seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

Scott Maple moved to re-establish the Taylor School Board districts as follows:

District 1: Voter Precincts 5Taylor1, 5Taylor2 and 5Taylor3

District 2: Voter Precincts 4Taylor1, Taylor A, Taylor B and Taylor C

The boundaries of the aforementioned precincts can be found on the attached maps.

Bill Brubaker seconded the motion.

The board discussed the population and demographic ramifications of various options of redistricting. The board also acknowledged that each district would be represented by two board members who reside within said district at the time of election and that the two members from each district would be elected on alternating two year election cycles for a four year term. In addition to the district representatives, there would be one at large member elected to the board who can reside anywhere within the school district. This member would be elected to a four year term during the non-presidential two year cycle.

It was also discussed that the board would continue the practice that nominating petitions for the board may be signed by any registered voter who lives within the Taylor school district regardless of whether they reside in the same school board voting district as the nominee.

After much discussion and analysis, the motion passed 5-0.

Jeff Kellar moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Bill Brubaker and passed 5-0. The meeting concluded at 6:50 p.m.

Dennis L. Marler

Bill Brubaker